Compare
An AI receptionist with included conversations, next to a per-call AI receptionist that can hand the call to a person.
AptaBook is an AI receptionist at $49, $99 and $149 a month, with a 15-day free trial and setup in under 10 minutes. Smith.ai bills per call: a free plan covers 25 calls, and Pro is $150 a month for 75 calls. Prices checked Oct 29, 2026.
Best for
Smith.ai is an AI receptionist with live human backup. AptaBook is fully automated booking across calls, chat, email and WhatsApp.
Features
A minus mark means the pricing page we checked does not state it. It is not a claim that the product cannot do it.
Prices checked Oct 29, 2026
| AptaBook | Smith.ai | |
|---|---|---|
| Voice | Answers calls 24/7 | 24/7 AI call answering, with a North America-based receptionist as backup any time |
| Website chat | Website chat | Live chat support is help for Smith.ai customers, not a chat agent for your callers |
| not stated | ||
| not stated | ||
| SMS | not stated | Custom SMS branding on Pro and above |
| Languages | 20+ languages in the US and Canada | English and Spanish are in the page data. The visible pricing text does not state languages |
| 24/7 | Yes | Yes, including live backup day or night |
| Booking | Books into Google Calendar or Outlook | AI Scheduling (Calendly and more) |
| Human backup | not stated | Live receptionist backup any time, day or night |
| Integrations | Google Calendar, Outlook, Microsoft 365, HubSpot, Zoho, Zapier, Jobber, Mindbody, Google Meet, Gmail and Teams | Calendly and more, plus Clio, Zapier and more. Enterprise adds custom integrations |
| Trial | 15-day free trial | No trial. A Free plan instead |
| Contract | not stated | Month-to-month. 30 days' notice to cancel |
| Setup | under 10 minutes | not stated. Pro includes dedicated onboarding. Enterprise includes full-service setup |
| Your number | Call forwarding. Number porting is not supported. | not stated |
| Healthcare | HIPAA compliant | not stated |
| Spam | not stated | Known spam is filtered and does not count. Up to 10% of calls can be removed from the bill |
| Billing | Per conversation. No overage charge. Upgrade at the monthly limit. | Per call |
Pricing
Included usage is from AptaBook's own pricing copy: Solo 50 conversations, Starter 400, Professional 1,500. Enterprise pricing is custom, and a conversation count for Enterprise is not stated. A conversation counts the same on phone, chat, email or WhatsApp. At the monthly limit you upgrade. Every plan includes a 15-day free trial. See pricing.
Prices checked Oct 29, 2026
| Plan | Price | Included | Extra calls |
|---|---|---|---|
| AptaBook Solo | $49/mo | 50 conversations | No overage charge |
| AptaBook Starter | $99/mo | 400 conversations | No overage charge |
| AptaBook Professional | $149/mo | 1,500 conversations | No overage charge |
| AptaBook Enterprise | custom | not stated | not stated |
| Smith.ai Free | $0/mo | 25 calls | $3.00 per call |
| Smith.ai Pro | $150/mo for 75 calls | Also 150-call and 300-call tiers. About $270 and about $501, from the stated $1.80 and $1.67 rates | $2.50, $2.30 or $2.17 by tier |
| Smith.ai Enterprise | $500/mo at $1.67/call | 300 calls on that rate. 500-call and 1,000+ tiers exist | $2.17, $2.10 or custom |
Smith.ai figures are per their pricing page, checked Oct 29, 2026. The 150-call and 300-call Pro totals are derived from the stated $1.80 and $1.67 rates. Tier prices were not printed as a single dollar amount.
| Calls a month | AptaBook | Smith.ai |
|---|---|---|
| 100 | Starter, $99. Solo includes 50 conversations, so 100 needs the 400-conversation plan. | Pro 75-call plan is $150 plus 25 extra calls at $2.50, which is $212.50. The 150-call tier is about $270 (150 times $1.80) and also covers 100 calls. |
| 300 | Starter, $99. That plan includes 400 conversations. | Pro 300-call tier is about $501 (300 times $1.67). Enterprise at $1.67/call is $500 for 300 calls. |
| 600 | Professional, $149. That plan includes 1,500 conversations. | A 600-call price is not stated as one figure. Using the 500-call Enterprise rate of $1.60 plus 100 overage calls at $2.10 comes to about $1,010. |
The choice
Switching
You keep your number. AptaBook supports call forwarding. Number porting is not supported.
Open the 15-day free trial. No credit card is required.
Point AptaBook at your website and the facts callers ask for.
Turn on call forwarding from the number you already use.
Place a test call, a chat and a WhatsApp message, and book a time.
Setup takes under 10 minutes once the calendar and hours are connected.
FAQs
The same answers are in the FAQPage schema on this page.
At 100 calls, Smith.ai Pro is $212.50 if you start from the $150 plan and add 25 calls at $2.50, or about $270 on the 150-call tier. AptaBook Starter is $99 and includes 400 conversations. At 300 calls, Smith.ai is about $501 on Pro or $500 on Enterprise, and AptaBook stays at $99. Prices checked Oct 29, 2026.
Yes. AptaBook supports call forwarding. Number porting is not supported. Smith.ai does not state porting or forwarding on the pricing page we checked.
not stated. AptaBook includes WhatsApp along with calls, website chat and email.
AptaBook supports 20+ languages in the US and Canada. Smith.ai lists English and Spanish in its page data. The visible pricing text does not state languages.
AptaBook includes a 15-day free trial. Smith.ai does not offer a trial. It has a Free plan with 25 calls, then $3.00 a call.
AptaBook setup takes under 10 minutes. Smith.ai does not state a setup time. Pro includes dedicated onboarding, and Enterprise includes full-service setup.
Yes. AptaBook is HIPAA compliant. Smith.ai does not state this on the pricing page we checked.
Start the 15-day free trial, or book a demo with the same button used across the site.